Lukas Prize Winners

The winners of the 2011 Lukas Prizes, which "recognize excellence in nonfiction that exemplify the literary grace and commitment to serious research and social concern that characterized the work of the awards' Pulitzer Prize-winning namesake, J. Anthony Lukas," are:

J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize ($10,000):

Winner: Eliza Griswold for The Tenth Parallel: Dispatches from the Fault Line Between Christianity and Islam

Jefferson Cowie for Stayin' Alive: The 1970s and the Last Days of the Working Class
Paul Greenberg for Four Fish: The Future of the Last Wild Food
Siddartha Mukherjee for The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer

Mark Lynton History Prize ($10,000):

Winner: Isabel Wilkerson for The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration

Finalist: Patrick Wilcken for Claude Levi-Strauss: The Poet in His Laboratory

No comments:

Post a Comment