Caldecott Medal and Newbery Award Winners

Yesterday, the Caldecott Medal and Newberry Award winners were announced.  The Randoplh Caldecott medal, which is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished picture book for children, was presented to John Klassen for This Is Not My Hat.  The imaginative story tells of a little fish who tries to get away with stealing the hat of a much larger fish.  The Newbery Award, which honors the author with the most distinguished contribution to children's literature was presented to Katherine Applegate for The One and Only Ivan, the fictional story of a real life gorilla who lived in a cage in a circus themed mall before being rescued in 1994.  Both books make excellent reads to share with a special child in your life and are available at your Community Library!

No comments:

Post a Comment