Anthony Awards for Mystery Announced!

The Anthony Award is a literary award for mystery writers presented at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention. The winner of the 2014 Anthony Award for Best Novel goes to Edgar Award winner William Kent Krueger for Ordinary Grace.

Ordinary Grace by William Kent Kruger
New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson’s Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. 

It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder. Finding himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal, Frank is suddenly called upon to demonstrate a maturity and gumption beyond his years.

Told from Frank’s perspective 40 years after that fateful summer, Ordinary Grace is "a thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. Writing with aching clarity, Krueger deftly shows that even in life’s moments of unimaginable sadness there is beauty to be found. Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary." (BookPage Reviews)

No comments:

Post a Comment